A Portal is a secure folder that only the invited people can interact with. Through a portal you can share and sign documents and transact with your clients. You can give different clients access to different portals. Clients can have access to many portals and each portal can have multiple clients accessing it.
You can use your portals to distribute documents, ask for documents and data (via questionnaires), sign documents, chat, run ID checks and run entire processes or transactions (from client/patient/student registration to house purchases and company acquisitions).
Prefer to watch? This short video walks you through every step, or read the instructions below.
In this article we will show you how to get started in 3 easy steps (leaving advanced features for later).
1. From the main dashboard, click 'Portals' and '+' button and create your first Portal Group
Think of a Portal Group as a collection of portals that will share the same settings. You may want to create many types for different purposes: portals for clients may look very different from portals for deals, employees or projects.
2a. Optionally, after you create a Portal Group, you can adjust its settings:
Could not display content
3. Create your first portal. Click on the Portal Group name, then click "ADD A NEW PORTAL".
You will have two options:
Create a portal without inviting anyone to it just yet. To do this simply skip adding users to the portal, just insert the name
Create a portal and invite users to it immediately. To do this specify the email addresses of users you would like to invite, choose a portal name and define a welcome message.
Once you create a portal, you can enter it by clicking on the portal name or you can fine tune its settings further from the main portal list
To add, remove or edit user's access privileges - click on the Manage Portal Access icon:
for other settings, click on the "..." icon on the right hand side
The menu has a number of options:
Announcements - publish announcements that will be visible in the portal when users login
Documents - go into the Documents section of the portal
Rename - rename the name of the portal
Labels - add, remove or edit labels (they are needed for mass document distribution or faster search)
Auto-delete date - set a timer (in months) to automatically bin the portal.
Notification settings:
Subscribe to portal notifications (if, in your personal settings you deselected portal notifications)
Unsubscribe from notifications (if, in your personal settings you selected portal notifications)
Delete portal
Advanced considerations
Security - To understand how to restrict access to client portals to your team members read about Access groups
Subportals - ideal for payroll distribution or complex deals. Read this article to find out how to set them up and this article to learn how to securely distribute payslips
Not sure how to set up portals for your sector? See Portal recipes by industry.
Or, go to the next step:
Alternatively, go back to







